Wrexham Quiz League 
Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday, 9th August 2011 at the Lager Club, Wrexham
 As recorded by David Wilkinson - Vice Chairman
1 Teams Present
Overton, Swan, Hole in the Wall, Crick Quizzers, New Inn, Bowling Green, Theatre,
Johnstown Legion, Railway Brymbo, Peal of Bells A, B, Caergwrle Social Club, Buck Hotel,
Bangor Acs, Yew Tree, Plough, Catholic Club, Red Lion, Magers, Griffin.(20/27)
2 Apologies
3 A.g.m. Minutes 2010. Tuesday 2 August.
Martin Johnson proposed, Bill Littleford seconded that they be accepted as a true record.
Unanimous acception.
No matters arising.
4 Chair persons Report.
Diane gave her report for the year.
She welcomed everyone to the meeting, congratulated the winning teams and commiserating with the non winners. She thanked all the committee members for their support this year, particularly Faith Roberts and Paul Murphy, who are stepping down after many years service.
The question setters were also thanked for their hard work throughout the year.
The season had been eventful and successful. The changes to the handicap cup, and finals night had been a success and the same format will be used this season.
Most trophies have been lost/misplaced over the last few years. If anyone knows of any local firms who would like to sponsor new ones, would they please let her know.
She thanked Dave Jones for setting up and running the website. Next season the Rule/fixtures book will only be available on line. Teams will receive fixture cards only.
There will be 2 new question setters for the next season. The committee will meet with them and review the first 4 weeks questions in November. Teams are invited to comment on questions/make suggestions in this period. Comments should be forwarded to Brian Carr, results coordinator.
5 Treasurers Report
Paul Murphy gave his report and submitted the accounts for the year which had been audited by Keith Morris. We were £351 in profit over the year. This was due to less costs at presentation night and no charitable donations. Ray Pearson had agreed to take over as treasurer from Paul for this season.
Fees. After discussion it was agreed to charge £60 per team for next season. Subscriptions are to be in by the end of October.
Charitable donations. After discussion it was agreed that each of the 8 winners should be asked to name the charity they wanted for a £25 donation.
6 Rule Change
The committee proposed a change to the wording of rule 21 to;
"In league matches and the knockout cup competitions a participating team will consist of a maximum of 4 players, one of whom will be nominated as team captain.
For the table quiz events such as the handicap cup, Colin Hughes trophy and Les Moore cup, a maximum of 5 players may sit at a team table, the same 5 players to participate throughout."
This was accepted unanimously.
7 Committee Members
With the exception of Paul and Faith, the committee members will be the same as last year. Ray Pearson will be Treasurer.
No nominations were received for secretary. Therefore Dave Jones will be Fixtures secretary as well as Website coordinator. Brian Carr will continue as Results coordinator.
8 New Season's Start Dates
Provisionally the Colin Hughes trophy, for all winners and runners up of leagues, cups and divisional handicaps, will be held at the Lager Club for 8.30 on Tuesday 4th October. The first
League game will be on Tuesday 11th October.

 People have visited this website