Wrexham Quiz League 
 This is a collection of miscellaneous articles which do not fit in anywhere else.
This is an inter-league competition which has been held annually, starting in 1984, between teams of players representing local quiz leagues.
In the first competition a team from the Wrexham Quiz League finished runners-up to a team from the Wirral league.
Wrexham first won the competition in 1989, the team being captain Mike Dixon (Yew Tree A), Dave Westbrook (Yew Tree A), John Taylor (Belmont) and Pat Connolly (New Start).
In 1995 it was decided that Wrexham's entry would be the team who were league champions rather than a representative team.  This has remained the case ever since whereas teams from other leagues have always selected players from all teams in the league.
The only other occasion on which Wrexham won was in 1997 when the Yew Tree A were successful with a team consisting of captain Mike Dixon, Dave Westbrook, Dave Ellis and Madeline Evans.
In 2011 the Yew Tree A finished as runners-up to a team from the Ormskirk league which included Quiz World Champion and one of TV's "Eggheads", Pat Gibson.

Wrexham Science Festival Challenge 2012

The Wrexham Quiz League were challenged to a science- based quiz by a team of three lecturers from Glyndwr University as part of the Wrexham Science Festival. The quiz, which was recorded by BBC Wales for transmission on their "Science Cafe" programme on BBC Radio Wales at 7.00pm on Tuesday, 7th August, took place at The Lager Club, Wrexham, on Wednesday 25th July.
The speed on the buzzer turned out to be a deciding factor with the fast fingers of the Wrexham team winning the competition with a final score of 94 - 48.
The team which represented the league and pictured below consisted of, from left to right captain Tony Spendel (Hole in the Wall), Charlie Houghton (Plough) and Phil Bennion (Swan)

 People have visited this website